Pass Over Blood

‘The blood shall be a sign for you on the houses where you live; and when I see the blood I will pass over you, and no plague will befall you to destroy you when I strike the land of Egypt.’

Exodus 12:13

When God went through Egypt and killed the firstborn, it was blood that alerted Him to the families that should be passed over. He didn’t need the blood. He had already shown who were His and who were not. But the blood was important because of what it presaged.

When God examines a person who has died, it is the blood of Christ that alerts Him to the one who does not enter into the second death. We desperately need that blood, because asking God to cleanse us by that blood is what determines who is His and who isn’t. And the blood, in this case, is important because of the One from Whom it came.

Leviticus and other passages of The Bible assert that the life of a being is in its blood. There are some folks who believe that there is more to this than the merely medical information (remove the blood and the being dies) and think that there is something spiritual at work. In at least one case, that is absolutely true. But His blood is unique. Jesus is both fully God and fully man, which gives Him a unique status in the history of human beings. This being true, His entire being would be unique – and that includes His blood.

Christians can be accused of having a fixation with blood. I see no problem here. Jesus’ blood is well worth fixating on. The blood of Christ, dripping from punctures and rips, draining from the holes held open by nails, pouring around a spear is what saves me from the second death. Like everyone else, I will face a physical death. This body will decay and I will eventually have to leave this body behind. Jesus’ blood means I do not have to be separated from my God after I’m separated from my body.

 

Jesus, thank You for shedding Your blood; Your life so that I could be free to spend eternity with You when I am separated from this body.

Leave a Reply

