God Sees (Proverbs 5:21)

For the ways of a man are before the eyes of the LORD,
And He watches all his paths.

Proverbs 5:21

A simple reminder to me this morning. God sees.

When I am doing what I ought to do and no one else pays any attention at all, God sees and smiles. He watches all [my] paths. In the end, any reward I want comes from His hand, so it is most important that He see the good things I do; the times when I am an obedient son.

When I am doing what I ought not to do and no one else seems to see or care, God both sees and cares for the ways of a man are before the eyes of the LORD. I cannot hide my wrongdoing from Him. I cannot shield my sins from His sight.

This morning; this very moment God sees everything I do. He always has and He always will.

One more thought: He also sees my heart. In addition to seeing everything I do, God also sees everything I plan and hope and purpose in my heart to do. If I have determined that I will be obedient and I get tripped up in that resolve, God knows that my failure was not what I intended. If I decide to do something wrong and make plans to bring it about, God knows those plans and sees whether or not they come to fruition. Regardless of whether my feet walk that path, God sees that my heart planned to go down it. I wrote in the past about string theory and how every decision either spins-off alternate realities or destroys those potential realities in favor of this one. If my life is the string then God is the Tailor or Weaver or what-have-you Who is outside the thread. More, if I have placed my thread; my life in God’s hand then He is the one Who now determines where that thread goes; where that life leads. From outside, God can see all the twists and turns and all the might-have-beens as well. He sees it all — all my paths. Even the ones I choose not to walk, for good or ill.

God sees. I need to remember that. I cannot hide anything from Him despite my desires to do so when I do wrong. I can also take comfort that no good thing done is ever missed by His gaze. No one else may see, but God does. Comfort in doing right and what will be a deterrent to doing wrong if I can keep it on my mind: God sees.

Leave a Reply

