Unhatched Chickens (Proverbs 27:1)

Do not boast about tomorrow,
For you do not know what a day may bring forth.

Proverbs 27:1

I live in a deadline-driven society. Often, people want me to commit to a date when a project will be completed. It sounds entirely reasonable, but this proverb is a reminder that there is always the unforeseen. The proverb is not an instruction to be noncommittal, but rather a reminder that I should not, as another proverb puts it, count my chickens before they’ve hatched. I have learned to commit to deadlines that I am reasonably sure can be met even if (when) the unforeseen happens and slows things down.

Jesus said something very similar when He admonished us not to worry about tomorrow, but to let tomorrow worry about itself. His admonition did not mean that I should not plan, but that I should plan and pray that God would do good things with those plans.

While this morning’s reminder is not as earth-shaking for me as some have been, it is timely and appropriate. I will not live in a society that is not driven by deadlines this side of Heaven. I need to remember that what is not yet done is not to be counted. So many things could happen between here and complete that I need to count victories only after they have been achieved. Plan for the unforeseen, work toward the goal, and pray that God does what is best.

Leave a Reply

