Have You Not Heard? (Isaiah 40:28)

Do you not know? Have you not heard?
The Everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth
Does not become weary or tired.
His understanding is inscrutable.

Isaiah 40:28

I know that verse 31 is the most oft-quoted portion of this chapter in Isaiah, but this verse is encouraging to me right now.

The verse begins with an almost antagonistic-sounding pair of questions. Do you not know? Have you not heard? It almost sounds as thought the gauntlet is thrown down with these. In modern parlance, we might ask: Didn’t you get the memo?

That challenge moves on to three titles for God that give some insight into Who He is. First, He is The Everlasting God. This speaks of that fact that He always has been and always will be. Second, He is LORD. This is the Name He gave to Moses and continues to use throughout the OT. This is His covenant Name. This, to me, speaks of Him being a Maker and Keeper of promises. He commits to do something and it is done. Simple as that. Third, He is the Creator of the ends of the earth. This is where He becomes more relatable for me, as this title speaks of His creativity. As the Maker of everything, He is intimately acquainted with how it works. So this trio of titles tells me that God is eternal, a Maker and Keeper of promises, and the Creator Who is intimately acquainted with what He has made.

All of that to reach the two things that brought me comfort this morning.

Now that I know Who it is I am talking about, I am reminded that He does not become weary or tired. No matter how many people ask for things or how many of those requests He grants, God is not worn out by it. He does not need to mop the sweat from His brow and sit a spell before moving on to the next batch of prayers. He does not need a nap, no matter how many of us He deals with. Which is pretty amazing to me, since my one toddler is enough to make me yearn for a nap.

Since I know Who it is I am dealing with, I am reminded that His understanding is inscrutable. I can peer any which way I choose at God’s understanding; His reasoning and I will remain confused. Not because His reasoning makes no sense, but because His reasoning operates on a level to which I cannot attain. No matter how smart or how wise I may ever become (I am not excessively either, at the moment), I will never fully comprehend why God does what He does. And that, oddly, is comforting. There is much going on in my life that perplexes me. Knowing that I do not understand God’s workings allows me to smile, nod, and accept that He will work all things to my good. He promised He would do so. And I am dealing with a Maker and Keeper of promises.

When life is confusing, I need to remember that I may not understand but God has promised good to me and He is a Maker and Keeper of promises. When difficult times seem to be without end, I need to be reminded that God does not tire or grow weary, He created the Earth. I am fortunate if I can build a sandcastle. Lastly, I need to remember that God always has been and always will be. The other two are amplified by the abiding nature of God. He has always kept every promise He has made and He always will. He has never grown tired or weary and He never will.

One thought on “Have You Not Heard? (Isaiah 40:28)

Leave a Reply

