Purpose (Jeremiah 1:5)

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
And before you were born I consecrated you;
I have appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

Jeremiah 1:5

Lately, many of the verses God has drawn me to consist of comforting messages. No complaint, just an observation. And this morning’s verse continues the pattern. Most of what God says to Jeremiah in this verse could be said to everyone.

First, God mentions that He has known Jeremiah since before he (Jeremiah) was formed by God in his (Jeremiah’s) mother’s womb. There is some awesome stuff that God tells Jeremiah almost offhandedly. To be known since before conception is staggering. God took the time in eternity past to plan each person out. Everything about us. And He knows us; has known us since before we were conceived. In addition, God states that it is He Who forms people in the womb. Some might object and get all bent out of shape about how God could then allow any of us to come out anything but perfect. I am not God to defend why He allows things — I confess, I do not understand His doings either — but I know that He forms us in our mothers’ wombs. He says so. For the reasons why He does any particular thing, folks will have to go to Him.

God further tells Jeremiah that he has been consecrated since before he was born. God had a purpose in mind for Jeremiah before the prophet was around to fulfill it. I suspect that God could say exactly this to each of us. He has a purpose and a plan for each and every human being. Whether or not we choose to cooperate with that plan and fulfill that purpose is another matter entirely. But to know that God has a plan and a purpose for me and my life is comforting. It is far too easy to fall prey to the notion that my life is without meaning or purpose. In God, my life has both.

All of this is comfort to me. I am not perfect, but I am perfect for the purpose for which God has intended me. I am limited in my abilities, but those abilities I do have may be the exact ones and in the precise mixture for God to accomplish a particular work.

2 thoughts on “Purpose (Jeremiah 1:5)

  1. Yes! I am not an accident. God conceived me in his mind first before my mother conceived me in her womb. It really is comforting. When we stick with God and seek to know our purposes, we realise the depth of our significance and how meaningful we are in God’s global plan which is unfathomable but is fundamentally reliable!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

