All the Things (Jeremiah 27:22)

“‘They will be carried to Babylon and they will be there until the day I visit them,’ declares the LORD. ‘Then I will bring them back and restore them to this place.’”

Jeremiah 27:22

As I was reading through judgment after judgment and dire warning after dire warning, this verse caught my attention. In context, it is God saying that the utensils of the temple that had not already been carried off into Babylon would be carried off and that they would not return to Jerusalem until God said so. Having read through The Bible more than a couple times, I know that the utensils will not return to Jerusalem until after Babylon has fallen to the Medes and Persians.

What does that have to do with my walk with God today? Not much, at a glance. But, if I consider what is being said and what happens, I am reminded of the certainty of God’s statements and the dependability of His promises. What is more, I am reminded that He cares about even the minutiae; even the details that another might overlook.

God, through Jeremiah, announces that the utensils used in worship will go into Babylon. This is crazy important on a certain level, because those utensils are necessary for worship to continue. If I were to skip ahead to the book of Daniel, I would find that worship of God continued in Babylon without the utensils. Daniel, Hananiah, Azariah, and Mishael (the trio better known as Shadrach, Meshach, and Abed-nego … or Abendigo if you count the way most folks say it) refuse to worship idols and prefer to stick to a stricter dietary standard and pray to God despite laws to the contrary. The worship of God went to Babylon. I get two takeaways from this realization. First, I am reminded that what God says is what happens, no matter how much anyone might wish it otherwise. Second, I am reminded that God often sends His worshipers into places where He is not worshiped in order to bring worship of the True and Living God to those places.

But those utensils are minutiae. They are things that could be replaced; had been replaced more than once, if memory serves. The only things vital to worship are the God ho is worshiped and the person who worships. That is it. But God cares enough about the details to tell the people in Jerusalem that the utensils used in worship will be sent to Babylon and will come back when God is ready for them. He is so aware of and concerned with the details that He can promise that the utensils will be right where He wants them when He wants them. I cannot even say that about my own cell. I can rather frequently be found wandering around looking lost while trying to remember where I left it. God is not so. God is never confused or wondering where He left something. God knows the details and is concerned about the details and will take care of the details.

My takeaways this morning are as follows. First, what God says is what will happen. I can bank on that; depend on that. Second, God may send me into places where He is not worshiped so that those who do not worship Him may see Him worshiped by me and turn and worship Him. Worshipers beget worshipers and God will send me where He wants me to be in order to be fruitful. Third and last, God knows and is concerned with the details. He knows all about that thing that is causing me to fret. Not only does He know about it, but He knows where all the things are. All the things.

Leave a Reply

