Prophecy, Dreams, and Visions (Joel 2:28)

It will come about after this
That I will pour out My Spirit on all mankind;
And your sons and daughters will prophesy,
Your old men will dream dreams,
Your young men will see visions.

Joel 2:28

As a boy, I had dreams. I know that statement means next to nothing, in and of itself, but the dreams of which I speak are not your garden variety dreams. I had dreams that came to pass. While walking with a coworker, some weeks ago, we got on the subject of dreams and he maintains that dreams are nothing more than the mind processing life; sorting and filing information into its various containers. In contrast, both The Bible and my own experience say otherwise. This coworker chalks up my prophetic dreams to pattern recognition; the mind recognizing the patterns in life and doing a bit of predictive modeling. God knows that our minds are wonderfully complex and capable computing machines and that all our computers and software packages are just pale imitations that try to approximate the capacities of the human mind. That said, as capable as our minds are, there are things that are not, in my opinion, buried in the cyclical patterns of life and history, but are outside of it completely.

Rather than belabor the point, I simply note that God has made good on the promise made in this morning’s verse. I am walking, talking, writing proof that God has poured out His Spirit and that dreams and visions and prophecies are happening. Some will dismiss it and attribute it to some other cause, but God promised it would happen and it has.

I had thought to write about the end of the world, since that is the time frame of this prophecy, but I do not feel that that is what God is speaking into my heart this morning. Prophecy and dream and vision are excellent and the end of the world is actually a good thing — out with the old and in with the new. All of these things are predicated upon God’s faithfulness.

That I had prophetic dreams as a boy — and sometimes still do — is a fulfillment of God’s promise to pour out His Spirit. It may seem a small thing, but faithfulness in the small things is a hallmark of those who are faithful in the large as well. God making good His promise to give dreams and prophecies and visions is, to me, a reminder that He is faithful in much more important matters like salvation.

God fulfills His promises. And, in my experience, God still speaks to His children. He has spoken to me through His Word all my life and through my dreams since I was old enough to understand. He wants to speak to everyone in whatever way is most comprehensible. He is faithful to do so. We must be faithful to listen with ears to hear.

Leave a Reply

