Less than Best (Malachi 1:8)

But when you present the blind for sacrifice, is it not evil? And when you present the lame and sick, is it not evil? Why not offer it to your governor? Would he be pleased with you? Or would he receive you kindly?” says the LORD of hosts.

Malachi 1:8

The message in this morning’s verse is pretty clear. Am I offering God anything less than my best?

My best is still a sad excuse for something to offer Him, but it is the best I have to give. Isaiah wrote that my righteous deeds done without God’s empowering; the best that I can do without help is comparable to used menstrual cloths. Most women I have met think those are every variety of nasty in existence and most men do not even like handling them when they are new and clean. That is my best efforts; my “righteous” acts. Am I offering God at least that much? Because what I have to give only goes downhill from there.

If I am offering God anything less than my best, I must ask why. I put forth effort to try to remember to show my wife that I love her in ways that she will understand as such and it begs the question of whether or not I do as much for God. I try to be the best employee I can be and to work diligently and I must wonder whether or not I am as diligent about God’s work. The government takes more than God asks for, yet some believers chafe at the notion of giving anything to God’s work.

The gospel; the Good News tells me that God gave His best — His Son — to redeem me from bondage to sin and the sentence of condemnation to Hell. God did not hesitate. He freely gave the best He could give for me and to me. He set the standard by doing it.

Let me examine myself and my life and determine what the best is. What is the best of my time and my resources and my talents and my efforts and my love and my joy? Whatever those bests are, let me offer them to God. He deserves nothing less.

Leave a Reply

