Narrow (Matthew 7:13-14)

Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it. For the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it.

Matthew 7:13-14

As I read this verse this morning, I was struck by how different Jesus’ injunction is than what society pushes. Jesus tells me that there are two ways: broad and narrow. He further tells me that the broad way leads to destruction and the narrow way leads to life. Wide gate and broad avenue: destruction. Small gate and narrow lane: life. Pretty straightforward.

Society, on the other hand, adjures me to be “open minded” which means that society wants me to accept any bit of malarkey it attempts to foist on me. “Alternative lifestyles” and “identity” and “sexual liberation” and all manner of other things are pushed as perfectly valid and I am told that I must open my mind to these things; that I must accept these alleged truths. God, on the other hand, tells me that sin is utterly sinful and that the sinfulness of sin does not change because of some social fad. He does not tell me to go about condemning people for their sin — that is not my business — but He does tell me to call things as they are. Sin is sin. Holiness is holiness. Plain and simple. This means that the times I succumbed to the temptation of a thing are times wherein I sinned or transgressed. No excuses. No mitigation. This also means that the sin of others is still just as sinful today as it was yesterday.

If I take Jesus at His word and seek to walk the narrow path, then I will be seen as narrow-minded and parochial and have aspersions cast upon me. But how is that any different than my Savior?

The narrow way comes with a cross. The small gate comes with a Shepherd Who lays Himself across the portal and only allows through such as are His own. The narrow way and the small gate are exclusive in that the many who preferred the broad way and the wide gate are excluded.

The choice is mine. I choose to set my feet on the narrow way and follow in the nail-scarred footprints of He Who Loves me or to walk the hard-packed, oft-traveled broad way by the decisions I make every moment of every day. Father God, please let my choices be for the narrow way and the small gate. Every time. If I am seen as narrow-minded and have aspersions cast on me for following in Your footsteps, so be it. Only let me keep my feet in the nail-scarred footprints that lead to Life and that more abundant.

Leave a Reply

