Impossible (Mark 10:27)

Looking at them, Jesus said, “With people it is impossible, but not with God; for all things are possible with God.”

Mark 10:27

As I was driving in to work today, I was praying about a circumstance in my life that seems impossible to me. It is so huge, so overwhelming to even contemplate accomplishing on my own power that it warrants the description Jesus gives here: With people it is impossible.

I know that my Lord was talking about a rich person entering the kingdom of Heaven when He spoke these words. He might just as well have been speaking of anyone entering the kingdom of Heaven. We none of us can get there on our own steam. But He utters a promise that echoes in my soul this morning: All things are possible with God.

Is there some thing God has commanded that I am unable to obey in my own strength? All things are possible with God. Is there some work that God has called me to for which I feel incapable? All things are possible with God. This promise is not carte blanche to get whatever I want because God can do anything. This promise is a blank check made out to me for the things which God has commanded and called me to. He does not command me to obey Him and expect that I can do it. He knows I cannot. Instead, He tells me to do the impossible, then turns around and reminds me that all things are possible with God. It is His strength and His resources upon which He expects me to lean and draw. Not my own.

Father, please remind me that all things are possible when Your strength and resources are brought to bear. For You, impossible is just another Monday at the office — no more impressive than the effort required for me to type this entry and this brief prayer. While I am completely unable to do the things which You command, You are able to make me able by Your strength and with Your resources to do the impossible. Please help me to keep these things at the forefront of my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

