Pass Away (Mark 13:31)

Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will not pass away.

Mark 13:31

Everything ends.

I needed to let that reality sink into my consciousness a little bit. There was a song, back in the late nineties/early aughts, that said “every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.” It is a way to express the truth that there is no beginning without an end (everything ends) and no end without a beginning (you cannot finish what you never started).

There are, however, things that will not pass away. God’s Word, for example. Jesus states that His words will not pass away. What God has said will abide. This morning, I find myself clinging to this truth as a drowning man to the flotsam of his wrecked ship. This time I spend with God thinking on His Word and trying to apply it to my life is time well spent. These words that I study and think on will never pass away. This time is spent pondering eternal things. While I could spend time ruminating on temporal things — the heavens, the Earth, and all that they contain — it would be time spent thinking of things that will be gone in a moment, like thinking of vapor. This is not to say that it is bad to consider these things (consideration of vapor led to the age of steam, among other things), only that my thoughts of these things need to have the perspective of the object being temporal; ephemeral; momentary and transient.

Let me invest my time and energies in things that abide (“The Dude” not inclusive). Let me spend the largest part of my mental energies thinking on God’s Word and God’s Person. Let me consider how to win souls by and to the love of Christ, because souls, too, are eternal. Let my mind be fixed on eternal things and only transiently on transient things.

Leave a Reply

