Opportune (Luke 4:13)

When the devil had finished every temptation, he left Him until an opportune time.

Luke 4:13

The Bible is very clear in stating that Jesus was tempted in every way that a person can be tempted and was yet without sin. This did not mean that the devil did not try and try again, merely that every attempt at tempting Jesus resulted in the devil’s failure and Christ’s victory.

There is an application of this message for me. While I am not without sin, the devil does leave from time to time. This is not necessarily because he has failed. Sometimes he leaves because he has succeeded. He leaves because he will return at an opportune time. The devil is an opportunist and will tempt me when I am weakest against that temptation. Have my nerves been frazzled near to breaking? I will be tempted to unrighteous anger (Yes. There is a righteous variety). Is my patience sorely taxed? I will be tempted to cease being patient and to take matters into my own hands.

Sun Tzu wrote Appear at points which the enemy must hasten to defend; march swiftly to places where you are not expected. This is precisely the stratagem employed by the devil in this morning’s passage and in the lives of believers throughout history.

Where am I weak? Two things are sure about that area. One, I can be sure that the devil will tempt me in that area. Two, I can be sure that God’s grace is sufficient and that my weakness can be overridden by God’s strength. My wife shared a verse with me this morning that I just read, because it came to mind as I was typing. 2 Thessalonians 3:3: But the Lord is faithful, and He will strengthen and protect you from the evil [one]. While the devil may be seeking an opportune moment, God is also looking for opportunities to show Himself mighty.

Leave a Reply

