S.O.P. (Acts 2:42)

They were continually devoting themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer.

Acts 2:42

After Pentecost; after the Holy Spirit, through Peter, brought about three thousand people to faith the new converts made these four things their standard operating procedure.

One, they devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching. The modern equivalent would be spending time in The Bible regularly. But more, there are those who have been called by God to teach their fellow believers. These, also, have insight by the Holy Spirit and I am well-served to pay attention to them insofar as their teaching agrees with scripture. And this is not limited to teachers currently alive. I have learned much and more from such as C.S. Lewis and A.W. Tozer and G.K. Chesterton and others. I do well to spend time in the Word and in the teaching of those whom God has gifted with that ability.

Two, they devoted themselves to fellowship. Being of a solitary bent, I have often found this particular practice difficult. That said, fellowship need not be in large groups or in massive gatherings. While the second chapter records an in-gathering of three thousand souls, the rest of the book generally deals with much smaller fellowships: groups that could meet in a house. Spending time with my fellow believers is a necessity. The number, however, is not prescribed.

Three, they devoted themselves to the breaking of bread. This could mean that they had meals together — an interpretation supported by some parts of the book of Acts — or it could mean that they partook of the Lord’s Supper; Communion regularly. The second would be a fulfillment of Jesus’ command to do that in remembrance of Him. I suspect that both are the case. I suspect that those who had the means hosted those who did not and that Communion was a common occurrence.

Four, they devoted themselves to prayer. Prayer is difficult for many believers, myself included. There are so many teachings on prayer that one can easily get lost in the profusion. Worse, some of them seem to contradict one another. This teaching tells me that I should pray in a certain pattern while this other teaching tells me that the pattern is not important, but the position of my heart is. The conclusion to which I have come is that I will pray as best I can and let God sort me on the matter. Prayer is, after all, about meeting with Him. I am quite certain that He is able to sort me out.

Let me check myself in these areas. These were, after all, S.O.P. (standard operating procedure) for the church in is nascence. And, since God does not change, these things should still be S.O.P. for me today.

2 thoughts on “S.O.P. (Acts 2:42)

  1. Awesome word! At our church we have small groups for exactly what your are talking about here. They range from bible study, to cooking classes, to a fantasy football league (I run the last one lol). They are such a good way to fellowship, study and break bread with each other.
    Great word today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

