More to Come (Acts 24:14-16)

But this I admit to you, that according to the Way which they call a sect I do serve the God of our fathers, believing everything that is in accordance with the Law and that is written in the Prophets; having a hope in God, which these men cherish themselves, that there shall certainly be a resurrection of both the righteous and the wicked. In view of this, I also do my best to maintain always a blameless conscience before God and before men.

Acts 24:14-16

It is Paul’s last statement that caught my attention this morning.

In view of this. The first thing I need to understand is what Paul has in his view as he does what he does. The preceding verses were included to give that context. He has in view the hope in God … that there shall certainly be a resurrection. What he has in view; what motivates him is the knowledge that this life is not all there is. There is more to come.

I also do my best. Paul claims that he gives his best efforts and the Acts and epistles bear this out.

To maintain a blameless conscience before God and before men. To keep my conscience blameless means I need to get it blameless in the first place — making restitution for wrongs I have done and seeking the forgiveness of those I have wronged. I must then actively try to keep it blameless both by fleeing further wrongdoing and by continued repentance and restitution for wrongs that I may commit. I know that I will not be perfect this side of Heaven, but that does not mean I cannot do everything in my power to ensure I have a clean conscience.

So Paul’s statement boils down to this: I must do everything I can to keep my conscience clean because there is a resurrection coming; because this life is only the beginning. There is more to come and that should motivate me to work on keeping my conscience clear.

Leave a Reply

