Life and Death (Romans 6:10)

For the death that He died, He died to sin once for all; but the life that He lives, He lives to God.

Romans 6:10

This verse is stuck in my mind. I keep wanting to read further along, but come back to this verse and stare at it.

Christ died to sin once for all. Fundamental truth. The price for my sin in a nutshell.

Christ also lives to God. The very next verse begins with the words Even so … in like manner. Christ died to sin, in like manner I am to die to sin. Christ lives to God, in like manner I am to live to God. The life spoken of here is not mere existence, but a vital, thriving kind of life. It is a life, as Christ put it, more abundant.

The matter of life and death boils down to this: I must die to sin in order that I might live to God.

Leave a Reply

