In Love (1 Corinthians 16:14)

Let all that you do be done in love.

1 Corinthians 16:14

Yesterday, the pastor taught from John’s first letter and there was much said about doing things as Christ did them and still does them: in love. Now it may very well be that I simply heard that more emphatically because I am, like many, guilty of not acting in love as often as I should. This morning, I came across this verse in my reading and felt that I should pause and think about this for a moment.

The word that is translated all means precisely that: all. It can, when used of collective nouns, mean some of every kind, but it is here used of a singular, which the notes in my concordance say leads to it being rendered all. Every single thing I do should be done in love. Yesterday, I felt this concept as a gentle rebuke from God; a correction to my behavior that would likely be followed by disciplinary action from God if I ignored it. This morning, I feel it as an encouragement: Do everything in love.

John’s first letter includes the statement that God is love. Which means that this verse could also be understood as a rejoinder to do all things in God. A fitting understanding, since I cannot do everything in love unless I am first in God.

In between sentences of the previous paragraph, my daughter woke up and was asking for me. It was five o’clock in the morning and she should still be asleep at that hour, so I padded into her room and rocked her for a bit. When I told her it was time for her to get back into her bed and sleep, she replied that she wanted one more minute of rocking and burrowed into the crook of my arm. As I think of being in God and doing things that way, the image that comes to mind is of my daughter snuggling deeper into the crook of my arm; pressing into the warmth and security and presence of her daddy.

Let me press in to God that I might be near His heart and be secure in His love and presence and protection. Then let me act in that security and presence and protection and according to that beating heart. The same heart that saw me in my sins; an enemy to Him and wanted to save me anyway. The first part is to snuggle just a little deeper into Abba’s arms until I am at rest.

Leave a Reply

