In Christ (2 Corinthians 11:3)

But I am afraid that, as the serpent deceived Eve by his craftiness, your minds will be led astray from the simplicity and the purity that is in Christ.

2 Corinthians 11:3

Too often, I over complicate things. I get so wrapped up in how convoluted something must be that I overlook how simple it really is.

This very thing was happening in my walk with Christ, in recent times. I was getting hung up on the Do this and the Do not do this statements and instruction that I lost sight of how I am able to do or not do things. My pastor was good enough to set the record straight.

The simplicity and the purity that is in Christ is precisely that: simple and pure. There is nothing complicated about walking with Christ and all the Do and Do Not statements that I got caught up in are not meant to be obeyed without His help. In point of fact, the Do and Do Not statements are more a description of the kind of behavior I should note as I draw closer to God in Christ. As I spend more time in His presence in prayer and reading and meditating on His Word and in praise and in thanksgiving, I should see more obedience. As the praise song says: Turn your eyes on Jesus; look full in His wonderful face and the things of Earth will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace.

None of this absolves me of the responsibility to choose to obey or flee temptation, but fleeing temptation into the presence of God is the only way I am going to get away from temptation. Running away from a temptation and anywhere except into God’s presence is running right to a place where another temptation is waiting. The simplicity and the purity that is in Christ is precisely there: in Christ. If I want that simplicity and purity, I must press into Christ to get them.

Leave a Reply

