Have (1 Timothy 6:7)

For we have brought nothing into the world, so we cannot take anything out of it either.

1 Timothy 6:7

I came into this world with nothing. I had no clothing, no wealth, no house, no car. When, one day, I am laid to rest, I will exit as I entered. No clothing will follow me into eternity. No wealth will be in the pockets I will not have to pay for anything. My house (if I am ever able to purchase one) will remain where it was built. Everything I have had or will have during my time on this world will remain here, on this world. Eternity does not accept ephemeral things.

Job put it thus: Naked I came from my mother’s womb, / And naked I shall return there (Job 1:21). Not one bit of wealth amassed will make one bit of difference when I reach the end of my time here.

What this should do is refocus me; get my eyes where they need to be.

I live and move in the midst of affluence. I am, quite literally, surrounded by it. Small mansions with park-like grounds are nearby and expensive vehicles are visible just walking down the street. I am beset by the trappings of wealth and it is an easy thing to lose focus on what is important: God and the blessings He has given.

I have no expensive vehicle with all the bells and whistles, but my car is filled to bursting with memories of road trips and songs sung with my daughter and the laughter of my son. In this, I am blessed.

I have no palatial home with park-like grounds around it, but my little apartment is filled with all the things that make family: love and joy and laughter and all the frustrations, too. Because of the people in it, my apartment is a home. In this, I am blessed.

I do not have designer clothes, but what I wear is comfortable and affordable and I have enough. In this, I am blessed.

I am not a wealthy man; cannot throw good money after bad and not notice the loss. What I have is enough to pay the bills and have some left over for little luxuries. In this, I am blessed.

In all these things, I am blessed. If I focus on the blessings, then I find myself warmed and filled and grateful to God for His generosity toward me. If I focus on the things I do not have, then I become an ingrate. Let me focus on what God has given me and be grateful to God, from Whom all blessings flow and to Whom I shall one day return.

Leave a Reply

