SOAP Journal – 26 August 2016 (2 Peter 3:8)

But do not let this one fact escape your notice, beloved, that with the Lord one day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years like one day.

2 Peter 3:8

Just before this verse, Peter wrote about those who mock the promise of the Second Coming and say things like Where is the promise of His coming? For ever since the fathers fell asleep, all continues just as it was from the beginning of creation. Even for those who are not mocking the promise, it can sometimes be difficult to understand how God could promise to come “soon” and two thousand year elapse.

What Peter reminds me of is that God’s measurement of time is not the same as mine. Peter gives a couple of comparisons. First, that one day is like a thousand years. Then he flips the script and tells me that a thousand years [is] like one day. I can take this at face value and just figure that time does not mean a great deal to God and I can also look at the figurative language and see what it tells me about what God can do with time.

That one day is like a thousand years tells me God views one day as more than enough time in which to accomplish the miraculous. According to Genesis, it took God six days to make the entire created universe. If God made every living thing in the oceans in a single day, then the problems that concern me pale in comparison to what God has the time to do.

That a thousand years [is] like one day tells me that all of my waiting for things — answers to prayer, deliverance from circumstances, and so on — is not drawn out because of any meanness on God’s part, but because He just reckons time differently. My entire life on this planet will account for less than a day if a thousand years [is] like one day. I mean, if I do the math, I figure that an entire human life is equivalent to about two hours by this scale (1,000 years:1 day ≅ 100 years:2.4 hours). It is comforting.

Father, thank You for this reminder that Your time table is not the same as mine. Thank You, also, that this disparity brings comfort about waiting and about just how much You can do to resolve the things that concern me in any given day. Please bring this to my mind when I feel overwhelmed by the problems I face or when I feel I cannot wait one more moment.

Leave a Reply

