Aside

Fruit – Thoughts on the Fruit of the Spirit and the Tree of Life

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

Galatians 5:22-23

Then he showed me a river of the water of life, clear as crystal, coming from the throne of God and of the Lamb, in the middle of its street. On either side of the river was the tree of life, bearing twelve [kinds of] fruit, yielding its fruit every month; and the leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations.

Revelation22:1-2

This is less a mini-essay on these verses than it is a request to other believers on the internet who might read this to engage in conversation.

Last Sunday, my pastor was teaching and mentioned Galatians 5:22-23 and the often-mentioned fact that fruit in Galatians 5:22 is singular. Into my mind sprang the verses from Revelation that speak of the tree of life and of how the tree bears one kind of fruit each month. I wanted to speak with my pastor about it, but no opportunity presented itself. I will try to talk with him about it tomorrow.

I began to wonder if Revelation 22:1-2 shed light on Galatians 5:22-23 and whether the list of things (fruit) was meant to be understood as being fruit that shows up in its season, i.e. when it is needed. What I mean is that some situations call for patience while others require self-control. Does the Holy Spirit produce fruit in my life that is appropriate to the situation at hand? I do not know. And I do not want to misinterpret scripture.

Leave a Reply

