SOAP Journal – 06 October 2016 (Genesis 26:22)

He moved away from there and dug another well, and they did not quarrel over it; so he named it Rehoboth, for he said, “Truly now the LORD has made room for us, and we will be fruitful in the land.”

Genesis 26:22

Chapter 26 opens with the statement that there was a famine in the land. So this chapter, as far as I know, all takes place during a famine. This becomes important because I am also told that Isaac sowed in that land and reaped in the same year a hundredfold. The the midst of a famine, Isaac is so blessed by God that he has an abundance. This abundance causes the king of the Philistines to send Isaac away. So Isaac goes and his servants re-dug the wells that Abraham’s servants had dug and that the Philistines had filled in.When Isaac’s servants found new water, the Philistines argued with them over it. This happened more than once and leads up to the verse I am focused on this morning.

When Isaac’s servants dug a well and no one showed up to argue over it and give him a reason to move along, he recognizes that as God making room for him. Years ago I got my first teaching position because another teacher decided to move along at the last minute. He was leaving and I had already interviewed with the district for another position, so they knew who I was and where I was at. I was offered the job and took it without any further interviewing. God made room for me. When I was shown the door a few years later, God made room somewhere else. When I left teaching altogether, God made room for me with the first company that allowed me to be a technical writer for them. Sure, I kept applying and interviewing and looking for a place, just as Isaac’s servants kept right on digging wells, but I found no place to abide until God made room for me. You would think that I would have learned the lesson that God is the One Who makes room for me and that He will do so on His time table, but I get impatient in looking for my Rehoboth; my broad places.

Father, I know that You have been the One to make room for me in every place I have gone over the years.Thank You for doing so; for making room for me and for my family over and over again. Thank You for Your faithfulness to lead us into broad places. Please continue to do so; to lead us on into the new and exciting broad places You have for us and please increase my patience in the waiting. It is difficult to wait, but I know that the broad places into which You will lead me will be worth every moment of waiting.

Leave a Reply

