SOAP Journal – 14 October (Genesis 39:5-6)

 It came about that from the time he made him overseer in his house and over all that he owned, the LORD blessed the Egyptian’s house on account of Joseph; thus the LORDS blessing was upon all that he owned, in the house and in the field. So he left everything he owned in Joseph’s charge; and with him [there] he did not concern himself with anything except the food which he ate.

Genesis 39:5-6

These verses caught me this morning. Joseph had been sold into slavery by his brothers and that slavery took him down to Egypt and into the house of Potiphar. Potiphar was an important person in Pharaoh’s court and probably did not have a great deal of time to spare for running his household. Then he notices that Joseph works diligently and that everything Joseph touches is blessed. This persistent diligence and blessing leads to Potiphar making Joseph overseer in his house and over all that he owned. And the diligence and blessing continued. In fact, the LORD’s blessing was upon all that [Potiphar] owned, in the house and in the field.

The who and what and when are all pretty obvious in this story. Joseph is an example of what I should be doing. I should be working diligently and be trustworthy in my dealings such that my employer feels safe leaving anything in my charge. Is that how I work? Moreover, am I praying for God’s blessing on my employer, more specifically on the work I do for them?

For the first part — working diligently and in such a way as to prove myself valuable and an asset to the organization — I can check the box. For the second, I find I still need work. Let me continue in working so as to be a blessing, but add to it praying that the blessing is greater than my efforts alone could produce.

Father, thank You for Joseph as an example. Thank You that You want to bless both me in my work and my employer as a by-product of my work. Please continue to strengthen my hands to work diligently and to be a blessing. Please multiply the blessing such that it goes beyond. Thank You for providing me work to which I might apply myself.

Leave a Reply

