SOAP Journal – 25 October 2016 (Exodus 4:1)

Then Moses said, “What if they will not believe me or listen to what I say? For they may say, ‘The LORD has not appeared to you.’”

Exodus 4:1

This verse is part of the conversation between God and Moses wherein Moses is commissioned to go get the Israelites out of Egypt. Moses knows Who is sending him, but he realizes that the elders and the people might very well say that Moses never met with God and that he is making the whole thing up. And — aside from his knowledge that he did, in fact, meet with God — Moses would have no way of proving that God has spoken to him at all. That is this morning’s verse: Moses asking how he will convince the skeptic.

I find this question and God’s response particularly pertinent. Moses asks how to convince the skeptic and God answers with three miraculous signs. The New Testament tells me that the gospel went out with power and accompanying displays of God’s power. The thing is, it seems like God’s answer to the skeptic is to show Himself mighty. What about my life?

I can give account of times that God has done miraculous things for me; times when all human estimation said I should not have lived, yet here I am. I can testify to God’s power changing me and making me different than I was. I am not yet who I want to be, but I am not who I was. I have seen and bear witness to the power of God in my own life and in the lives of people I love. I am witness to the power of God. Can the skeptic see it?

I have, in recent times, encountered much in the way of atheism in various online media and these individuals are often quite civil in their objections to Christianity. They seem decent folks who say that they are willing to be convinced if such a thing can be done through reason. The problem, most often, is that they see no compelling evidence for the existence of God. And I think that the lack of evidence, sad to say, stems from the lack of God’s power in the lives of those claiming to be His children; in my life and the lives of my fellow believers. If I am ever to convince the skeptic, then the power of God is the only answer I can really give to the objection that I cannot prove that I met with God.

Father, please forgive me for the times and ways in which I have hindered Your power working in my life. I cannot know how many times I have stood in Your way. Please work in me to get me out of Your way and to show Yourself mighty to those skeptics with whom I have contact. Please reveal Yourself to as many as will be convinced thereby.

Leave a Reply

