SOAP Journal – 01 November 2016 (Exodus 7:7)

Moses was eighty years old and Aaron eighty-three years old, when they spoke to Pharaoh.

Exodus 7:7

I love this verse, because it is the context for the verses that follow it. This verse gives color to when Moses and Aaron told Pharaoh to let God’s people go. This verse tells how old these two guys were when they got started in their ministry.

I find this verse encouraging. These two guys did not get started in their ministry until they were in their eighties. In my own life, I see the number that indicates my age keep increasing and I am often confused. I do not feel that old on the inside. More, this verse reminds me that ministry happens when God calls us to it. That may mean that we begin ministering at a young age like Josiah as king of Israel or Timothy in his help of Paul or it might mean that we are called, as were Moses and Aaron, in our later life.

God calls whom He will at whatever age He desires to use them.

Father, please continue to call me to new things or to call me back to the core thing You have for me to do. Please use me until my time here is done and You call me to the last, best calling: Home.

Leave a Reply

