SOAP Journal – 14 November 2016 (Exodus 12:13)

The blood shall be a sign for you on the houses where you are; and when I see the blood I will pass over you, and no plague will befall you for destruction when I strike the land of Egypt.

Exodus 12:13

This verse is the reason that Passover is called that, because God promises to pass over the houses marked with the blood of the lamb. There is something that I do not think I noticed in the language before this morning: The blood shall be a sign for you. That is, the blood was not solely to tell God who believed and who did not — God knew without the blood smeared on the doorposts — but it made an obvious and visible distinction between those who believed and those who did not in the eyes and minds of everyone living in the area at the time.

The New Testament (NT) tells me that Jesus is the Lamb of God (John 1:29, 36) and that He is my Passover (1 Corinthians 5:7). It is the application of His blood to my life that gives me right standing before the Father and causes destruction to pass me by. The blood of Christ applied to my life should cause visible change, such that others notice. The blood of Christ should cause a sharp distinction to be drawn between those who are His and those who are not.

This, I suspect, is why so many of the old hymns and much of Christian teaching and thought revolves around the blood of Christ. There have been times when Christians were accused of being obsessed with Christ’s blood. And why not? We should be. That blood is the delineation between those who are marked for destruction and those who are marked for Life. And the blood is a reminder that I cannot save myself. No works; no deeds; no sacrifice of my own will ever amount to enough to save me from the coming destruction. Only the blood of the Lamb of God applied to my life can cause destruction to pass me by. And the application of that blood should be something noticeable; should impact my behavior all the way down to how I eat my meals.

Father, thank You for the blood of Christ that washes me and marks me as being passed over by destruction. Please work in me to make the distinction clear, so that others might see and know that You are saving as many as want to be saved from the wrath to come.

Leave a Reply

