SOAP Journal – 18 November 2016 (Exodus 15:2)

The LORD is my strength and song,
And He has become my salvation;
This is my God, and I will praise Him;
My father’s God, and I will extol Him.

Exodus 15:2

After the Egyptian forces are overwhelmed by the waters, Moses and the Israelites had a praise session and the song included this verse. The song, like all songs, has a lot more in it than one phrase or the chorus or bridge, but this is the part that caught my attention.

Lately, I have been dealing with a somewhat tiring schedule. Been up early, work a decently long day, and get home to kids who are excited to have some time with daddy. One day has been even longer, as it included teaching a class that often ran until a bit late. None of this is the end of the world, but the first part of this statement — The LORD is my strength and song — has felt more real in the past few weeks than at other times. There have been moments when I knew that I knew that the last vestiges of my strength were depleted and what I was running on was not from my store. There have been difficulties and temptations which have hit and been hit back and I find myself wondering when it happened and how I had strength to so much as nudge those things, let alone push them aside and keep walking. None of it has been me, but has been the LORD. As He is my strength and song; the power and energy that sustains me as well as the joy that keeps me from being terrible to be around, He then [becomes] my salvation; saves me from the temptations and challenges and sometimes (often) from myself.

The song gives the proper response to this: This is my God, and I will praise Him. I see the good things that God does for me and remember that this is my God. This is the God I worship and in Whom I have placed my trust. And I will praise Him. Anyone who asks is going to hear that it has been God sustaining me. Anyone who listens will hear about how faithful my God is to those who are His own. Even me.

Father, thank You for this reminder that it has been You sustaining me through the tiring times and You Who has given me strength to face the various vagaries of life that came along during those times and You Who has given me joy in the midst of some of the most wearying moments. You have been faithful. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

