SOAP Journal – 18 April 2017 (Deuteronomy 2:32, 36)

Then Sihon with all his people came out to meet us in battle at Jahaz. … From Aroer which is on the edge of the valley of Arnon and [from] the city which is in the valley, even to Gilead, there was no city that was too high for us; the LORD our God delivered all over to us.

Deuteronomy 2:32, 36

Moses rehashes the journeys of the Israelites and brings those journeys around to recent memory for his audience. Those listening would remember the battle he talks about when he mentions Sihon and all the territory that they had conquered. What Moses is saying is not news to his audience. This is not something they do not know. And what he wants to remind them of is that God is able to deliver anyone and everyone into their hands. Moses wants them to remember that God is capable of delivering on His promises.

I, too, sometimes need a reminder. I sit in a home that is new to me, surrounded by boxes, and find myself beginning to stress about payments and various other things. What I am reminded of this morning is that God is able. And I need do no more than look back into recent history, just as the Israelites did, to see the hand of God accomplishing great things on my behalf.

Father, thank You for Your love and care and for Your readiness to show Yourself able to accomplish what concerns me. Please continue to move me forward even as I cast an eye back to remind myself of Your power and ability.

Leave a Reply

