SOAP Journal – 21 April 2017 (Deuteronomy 4:9)

Only give heed to yourself and keep your soul diligently, so that you do not forget the things which your eyes have seen and they do not depart from your heart all the days of your life; but make them known to your sons and your grandsons.

Deuteronomy 4:9

Still in the transition between remembering what they have seen and heard and experienced and The Law that God had given them, Moses exhorts the Israelites not to forget what they have seen. More, he exhorts them to teach their children and their children’s children the things that they have seen. Come the New Testament, Paul writes a letter to Timothy in which he exhorts the young church leader to hold on to what was put into him by his mother and his grandmother. Clearly, some folks took Moses’ exhortation to heart.

As a father, I find this verse challenging. Not because I do not want to tell my children what God has done in my life. Not because I have any lack of material to communicate. But because I have not been consistent with the first step: do not forget. God does things large and small in my life regularly. His fingerprints are all over me. But I cannot recall all of those things, because I have forgotten them. I did not rehearse them and share them with others nor keep a record anywhere of the amazing things that God has done for me. In this, I need to improve.

Father, thank You for the good You have done me all through my life. Please bring those things to mind when I am with my children and the opportunity arises to brag about You to them. Please show me ways to improve in giving heed to myself and keeping my soul diligently so that I do not forget.

Leave a Reply

