SOAP Journal – 26 April 2017 (Deuteronomy 5:2-3)

The LORD our God made a covenant with us at Horeb. The LORD did not make this covenant with our fathers, but with us, [with] all those of us alive here today.

Deuteronomy 5:2-3

Moses begins his recounting of God handing down the Ten Commandments by reminding the Israelites listening to him that they were there when these commands were issued. This covenant; this agreement was not made between God and someone else, as if they inherited it, but between God and them. They were recipients of the promises made to Abraham and Isaac and Israel, but the covenant; the agreement was between God and the people alive at that moment.

I, too, entered into a covenant with God. My wife and children are not entered into the covenant because I have decided to follow Jesus, but must make their own decisions. I was not entered into the covenant because my parents decided to follow Jesus, but had to make the decision for myself.

And that is the application for this morning: everyone must make their own decision to enter into a covenant; a contract with God or not. My children will have to make that decision for themselves. My part; my place is to live out my faith in such as way as my children see God’s benefits and want to enter into the same covenant of salvation.

Father, thank You that You deal with each of us individually and that no one else can make the decision for us. Please cause me to live out my faith in such a way as shows the salvation You offer in the best possible light.

Leave a Reply

