SOAP Journal – 04 May 2017 (Deuteronomy 7:7-8)

The LORD did not set His love on you nor choose you because you were more in number than any of the peoples, for you were the fewest of all peoples, but because the LORD loved you and kept the oath which He swore to your forefathers, the LORD brought you out by a mighty hand and redeemed you from the house of slavery, from the hand of Pharaoh king of Egypt.

Deuteronomy 7:7-8

Moses, while giving instruction about what should be done to the nations that the Israelites would be driving out of the Promised Land, works his way around to reminding the Israelites of something they really ought to know and that I should also keep in mind.

Moses says, The LORD did not set His love on you nor choose you because you were more in number than any of the peoples. The Israelites were no nation at all when God chose them. He chose them back in the time of Abraham, when there was only one old man and his old wife who took God at His word. The Israelites were no mighty nation; no impressive people. They were chosen by God because God chose them. That is it. And Moses makes that clear.

Moses continues the thought and says that God did not chose them because they were great in number or any other such thing, but because the LORD loved you and kept the oath which He swore to your forefathers, the LORD brought you out by a mighty hand and redeemed you from the house of slavery. The thought is this: God did not love you or choose you because you were impressive in some way, but because He loved you and kept His promise to those who came before and who loved Him He has done great things for you. And the same principle applies to me today.

God did not choose me because of some impressive aspect of me. I am not all that impressive. God did not love me because of anything inherently lovable in me or about me. He chose me because I chose Him. He loved me because He loves me. God loves me because He loves me (I love this reason) and chose me because He promised that if I chose Him He would also choose me (I am also a fan of this reason). That is it. That is all. I have no features that were worth redeeming.

Thank You, Father, for loving me. Thank You for saving me. I know that I deserve neither, but You freely offer both and I needed only accept them. Thank You. Please work in me that I might walk worthy of Your love.

Leave a Reply

