SOAP Journal – 17 May 2017 (Deuteronomy 15:1)

At the end of [every] seven years you shall grant a remission.

Deuteronomy 15:1

Moses commands the Israelites to grant a remission … every seven years. This is a kind of miniature Jubilee that Moses is commanding them. In the Year of Jubilee, all debts were forgiven and all land except as prescribed otherwise reverted back to its original owner. This miniature Jubilee was limited to fellow Israelites. There was nothing in this about how to treat those outside the nation.

There are similar injunctions for Christians. Time would fail me to write them all down, but I am told to love my brothers and sisters in Christ and by that love to be known to the world.

But I am going to apply this by taking a step back and being a bit more liberal with how I view the injunction given here. Instead of continuing on and seeing that Moses limits the debt forgiveness to fellow Israelites, I am going to stop with the command that I am to forgive; to grant a remission. I am going to view this through the lens of Jesus Christ commanding me to forgive as I wish to be forgiven — that is, to do to others as I would have done to me.

Father, thank You for forgiving me my debt to You. Please make my heart as forgiving as Yours.

Leave a Reply

