SOAP Journal – 08 June 2017 (Deuteronomy 29:29)

The secret things belong to the LORD our God, but the things revealed belong to us and to our sons forever, that we may observe all the words of this law.

Deuteronomy 29:29

I have heard this verse quoted, but do not think I noticed it in my reading until  this morning.

There are things about which The Bible does not speak; areas in which The Bible seems to be mum. This is not to say that God has nothing to say on the matter, only that His thoughts on that subject are not revealed. There are secret things, or hidden things that God keeps to Himself. And He has every right to do so. Just as every person has every right to hold certain information close, so, too, does God have every right to withhold things from us. As with the lesser (us), so with the greater (God). This also means that God is not going to hold me to account for something which He did not reveal.

There are other things about which The Bible is quite specific. There are commands that are clear and prohibitions that leave no room for argument. There are blessings and curses and promises both pleasant and ominous. These things belong to me. God has revealed them so that I know them. If I know them, then I am now accountable for them. This is heavy when dealing with The Law, because it means that I know what the standard of perfection is and know that I have never, am not currently, and can never measure up to it. This is delightful when dealing with God’s promises, because it means that all of the promises that are properly directed to me (and not to, say, the Israelites specifically) belong to me. Just as the onus to obey is mine, so, too, the fulfillment of promises rests on the God Who made those promises.

As I struggle to obey, God sees and has made clear to me that He is mindful that I am but dust. He knows my weakness and my failures. He does not condone them, but nor is He surprised or shocked or put off by them. He is ready to restore me and move me forward.

The things revealed belong to us and to our children forever. While Moses said this to the Israelites, the principle is sound and what God reveals belongs to those to whom He has revealed it.

God, please make solid in me those things which You have revealed and which belong to me — both things to obey and promises in which to hope.

Leave a Reply

