SOAP Journal – 28 July 2017 (Judges 10:3-5)

After him, Jair the Gileadite arose and judged Israel twenty-two years. He had thirty sons who rode on thirty donkeys, and they had thirty cities in the land of Gilead that are called Havvoth-jair to this day. And Jair died and was buried in Kamon.

Judges 10:3-5

As with Tola, Jair does not at first glance offer much to work with in regard to parallels with Jesus. There is no mention of specific things he did. What it does tell me is that he had a bunch of sons who each had a donkey and a city of their own.

Jair means “he enlightens.” And this is the first connection with Jesus. John 1:4-5 says, In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men. The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it. and John 1:9 adds, There was the true Light which, coming into the world, enlightens every man. All of those verses in John are in reference to Jesus. Jesus, my Judge, enlightens me. He shines light into the darkness of my life and shows me the things that are otherwise invisible to me because of spiritual darkness.

In Luke 19:11-27, Jesus tells a parable of a nobleman going away to receive a kingdom and entrusting his slaves with resources to do business until his return. When he comes back and finds faithfulness, the wording is interesting, because the nobleman says to the slave who earned the most (ten times what he was entrusted with), Well done, good slave, because you have been faithful in a very little thing, you are to be in authority over ten cities (Luke 19:17). Luke also tells his reader that the parable was in response to the people thought that He was going to establish His Earthly kingdom right then and there (Luke 19:11).

What is more, in His letter to the church in Thyatira, Jesus tells the church that He who overcomes, and he who keeps My deeds until the end, TO HIM I WILL GIVE AUTHORITY OVER THE NATIONSAND HE SHALL RULE THEM WITH A ROD OF IRONAS THE VESSELS OF THE POTTER ARE BROKEN TO PIECES, as I also have received [authority] from My Father; and I will give him the morning star (Revelation 2:26-28). There is this dual promise of light and rulership to the one who overcomes.

From this, I take away a twofold ministry of Jesus in my life. The first part of that ministry is to enlighten and by shining light into the dark corners of who and what I am, reveal the things in me that are not right. The second part is to rule. Not only does Jesus show me what is wrong, but, if I call Him Lord, then He is also my sovereign. He is to rule over me and, when He has rule and reign in my life, He extends rulership to me so that I might rule over myself in the here and now and over whatever else He might wish to entrust to me in future.

Father, I see, by Your light, the things that are wrong in me and I recognize them as wrong. Please bring me into submission to You that those things might be corrected and my life be made right.

Leave a Reply

