SOAP Journal – 19 December 2018 (Nehemiah 6)

For all of them were [trying] to frighten us, thinking, “They will become discouraged with the work and it will not be done.” But now, [O God,] strengthen my hands.

Nehemiah 6:9

Chapter 6 of Nehemiah is the account of Sanballat and Tobiah and the rest of their circle trying to entrap Nehemiah in something that would smack of rebellion or to discourage the workers who were building the wall or both. Nehemiah flatly refused to leave the work he was doing no matter the message that was sent or the veiled threat to spread a rumor to the king. Nehemiah trusted God and his integrity to be enough.

There are three things that seem noteworthy to me.

One, Nehemiah refused to leave the work. Nehemiah refused to leave because he could see through the scheme and understood that it was all a ploy to stop the work.

Two, Nehemiah trusted God to preserve him and his reputation. Nehemiah had been sent to rebuild the wall with the king’s full knowledge and trust. So Nehemiah put his trust in God that nothing said to the king would undermine that trust.

Three, Nehemiah trusted his integrity. A person of integrity, who has lived their life consistently before God and men can often weather the storms of rumor and come out none the worse for wear.

I have experienced the flip side of this chapter. When I was a much younger man, I was given oversight of a junior high youth group. I was mid-twenties and single, but loved those kids as if they were my younger siblings. Generally, there was no problem. It happened that there was an event in which I would be going with the youth and some young women about my age on a camping trip. Some saw no problem — there would be plenty of accountability and I had, at the time, a good reputation — while others worried about what-ifs. The event happened, but not until an older, married overseer accompanied the group with his wife. This whole experience was just the most obvious of the resistance to that younger me being given oversight of the junior high youth. The event and all of the other regular times the youth group spent together seemed to be a blessing to the youth in the group and I allowed that work that God was doing to be sabotaged by the parents who opposed me being the one to do the work. I stepped down.

I am no Nehemiah, to be able to rely on my integrity. My life has plenty of dark corners where things I would rather not remember are leaning against the walls. But I can absolutely rely on God, because His integrity is beyond question.

Father God, thank You for workers like Nehemiah who remind me to stand and continue to do what You have called me to do until the work is complete or You call me to something else. Please make my regrets into instructive things that do not hinder, but spur. Please give me eyes to see the path You would have me walk, ears that hear Your voice directing me, and feet that are swift to follow in Your ways.

Leave a comment