Unity (Colossians 3:14)

Beyond all these things love, which is the perfect bond of unity.

Colossians 3:14

I hear much lately about how we need to come together; how we are divided. If we truly want to be united, then we have only to turn to God’s instruction and we will find the remedy: love. Over and over again, the believer is told to love. This time around, Paul writes that love is the perfect bond of unity. I love that the footnotes tell me that the original phrasing is uniting bond of perfectness.

If we want unity, then we must love one another as God loves us. If we want an end to division, then God’s love is the uniting bond. The word used, my concordance tells me, is the same word that would be used for ligaments. This is not merely a uniting that is effected by God’s love, but a uniting such that the parts joined are a functional whole.

Let me love as God loves and unity; functional joining together will follow.

One thought on “Unity (Colossians 3:14)

Leave a comment