SOAP Journal – 25 January (1 Kings 8:54-61)

“Blessed be the LORD, who has given rest to His people Israel, according to all that He spoke; not one word has failed of all His good word, which He spoke through Moses His servant.”

1 Kings 8:56

Sometimes, we all need a reminder of how faithful God is. Once the temple build was complete and when Solomon had finished praying, he turned and spoke to the people. While my Bible gives this section the heading “Solomon’s Benediction,” this could just as easily be titled “Solomon’s Exhortation” or “Solomon’s Reminder to the Israelites.” While the whole set of thoughts is worthwhile, I find myself zeroed in on the faithfulness of God.

Blessed be the LORD is a wonderful way to begin my day. There are things in my life that are cruising along at a good clip and I can heartily agree with Solomon’s Blessed be the LORD. There are other things in my life that are moving along at a snail’s pace or feel as though there is no movement at all. When I look at those things, I need to remember that not one word has failed of all His good word. God has made promises to His people. Not one has gone unfulfilled. Maybe I have not yet seen the fulfillment of a particular promise in my own life, but I can point to lives in which the promise has been fulfilled, so I know that God is still honoring that promise — not that He changes His mind, but sometimes a promise or commitment has an end date on it. The marriage vows are until death. While I realize that more than a few marriages do not make it that far, the terms of the promise made are that it will be honored until death.

Let me join with Solomon and say Blessed be the LORD. God is worthy of blessing and honor. And, though I may not yet have seen the fulfillment of a particular promise He has made, I can say that not one word has failed of all His good word. He has never failed to make good His promises. He will not fail today.

Father, thank You for Your faithfulness despite our faithlessness. Thank You that all of Your promises are sure and that not one word that has proceeded from You has gone unfulfilled.  Please incline my heart toward You that I might rest in Your words and trust that You will perform that which You have promised.

Leave a comment